Star Exchange and Billiard Room-1865
This 1865 building demonstrates the ways one building housed different businesses over a century. It was built as a saloon, serving up whiskey, spicy foods, and German card games such as Skat. In 1872, the Herald Zeitung newspaper took up residence until 1957, when the building became a barber shop. Today visitors can view artifacts from its many lives, including an advertising sign from San Antonio’s Pearl Brewery. The original wide floorboards in the back are made of cypress.